Benue South 2019: 16 candidates jostle to take over David Mark’s seat

No fewer than sixteen persons have indicated interest in the seat of the immediate past President of the Senate, David Mark, in Benue South Senatorial district.

This came following the release of the final and successful list of candidates by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Thursday.

Mark is stepping aside after spending 20 years in the Senate.

The retired Brigadier General has been occupant of the seat since the return of democracy in 1999.

However, the race has been narrowed down to four persons.

Among the top four contenders are: immediate past Minister of Interior, Comrade Abba Moro, who is the flag bearer of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Moro, a native of Okpokwu is said to be the anointed candidate of former Senate President, David Mark.

Moro during his ward to ward tour had declared that Mark, fondly called the Okpokpowulu K’Idoma had anointed him to take over from where he stopped.

Moro is loved by the people of Benue South, especially the youths for creating job opportunities for Benue South sons and daughters during his time as the interior minister.

Also in the race is the former Deputy Governor of Benue State, Steve Lawani.
Lawani, of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Lawani, a native of Otukpa is a man of few words but not the people’s favourite but he’s is said to be banking on federal might to clinch the seat.

Former Permanent Secretary, Mike Okibe Onoja is among those jostling for the senatorial seat.

Onoja, a revered elder statesman is from Ado and the candidate of the Social Democratic Congress.

The renowned philanthropist pitched his tent with the ‘Horse Party’ after losing the PDP ticket to Moro during the party’s primary election in Makurdi.

Also among those battling to take over the seat of Mark is the acclaimed ‘Peoples Messiah’, Usman Abubakar, famously known as Young Alhaji.

Abubakar, who hailed from Ogbadibo in Benue is a known philanthropist and friend of the youth.

He fought David Mark to a stand still in 2003 and 2007 elections.

He’s flying the flag of the little known Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance, APDA.

Others in the race are: Alache Ode (PT), Juliet Angulu (ADC), Dennis Douglass Inaympe (LP)
Ujah Oyiwona Richard, PPC, Okewu Mary, PPN, Ola Odeh Paul, NRM, Uloko Stephen Ugwu, CAP, Magaji Adams Adamu, DA, Ochoho Paul.A JMPP, Emmanuel Okegbo, NCP, Ogbole Billy Okolo, ACD, Adoko Light Immanuel, ADP.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top